The Pigeon Weds: Moving forward, moving out.

Can you guess what this new feature is going to be about?!

We made  the decision last Sunday to move our wedding forward by 12 months, meaning by this time next year, we shall be wed, or very close to it.

Cue crazy running around like a headless chicken montage.

The move forward is due to one major factor. The health of my beautiful and wonderful Grandmother.

Ever since I was able to walk around with a pillowcase on my head as a veil, she has been thinking of my wedding day. She has talked about it, laughed about it and spent many hours dreaming of my happiest day, sharing her plans with me.

A few years ago, she was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, a cruel disease that has already begun to strip away the independent and strong woman who helped raise me. She still of course knows who we are, as she is only in early onset, but her memory shall only get worse, taking her further and further away from us and the woman she used to be.

Having my Grandmother at my wedding, fully aware of the event, is more important to me than the day itself. So for the next 12 months, alongside buying our first home, we shall be planning our wedding.

I know, I know… we are ruddy mental. The two most stressful things to do in your lifetime, and we are going to do them simultaneously.

Why, I hear you cry? Because we aren’t willing to compromise on either. We physically cannot live in this tiny flat for two years, and we are not going to risk my Grandmother’s health by waiting for 24 months.

So here we are thrown in at the deep end… Moving forward and moving out.

Having half as much time to save for the Big Day, our wedding is going to be in true Pigeon style. Purse Friendly.

This feature is going to pop up every now and then on the blog, talking about what I am doing to cut costs & corners, to help other brides out there who are doing the same thing, without compromising!

Let me know what you would like to see and know about our (I say our, but it is going to be blatantly MY) wedding planning journey! DIY’s? Advice on keeping costs down? Whaddaya want to know!?

Fancy reading some other posts about us?

How about how we met and our engagement? Go on…. be nosy! :D

17 responses to “The Pigeon Weds: Moving forward, moving out.

  1. I’m sure you’ll be fine! You’re great at saving money and the internet has opened up an entire community of money savvy bloggers of which so many seem to be getting married now, that I’m sure are willing to pile in and help. I also worry about my Gran and godmother being around for my wedding. It wouldn’t be the same without them, but I’m still a while off proposals!

  2. Congratulations, and what a moving tribute to your lovely Grandmother. Lots of ways to cut costs on weddings. Make as much as you can yourself – bit like the biggest and best craft project ever and means your day will be full of personal touches. My husband and I did this with our wedding (eg spent a day collecting scallop shells on the beach which we painted white and used as place cards !) and I look back at the preparations with as much fondness as the day itself. Enjoy x

  3. Aww this is so lovely- I’m welling up a little bit!

    I’m so excited for you guys- sounds like you’ve got a very stressful year ahead of you, but it will all be worth it in the end; you’ve got two very special things to look forward to!

    If you have any questions about house stuff I might be able to help- my lovely boy and I bought our house about 2 years ago. Can’t help on the wedding front, but I reckon this blog can http://www.rocknrollbride.com/ :)

    xxx

    • I love rock and roll bride! Been a follower for a long time!
      Thank you for the offer of house help…I think we are going to need it. I am already crazy stressed. Just trying to pin Him Indoors down of what he wants and doesn’t want makes me want to stick pins in him!

  4. Exciting times Bex, you can do it!

    You may have already seen this but I love this girls blog and she also had a beautiful, crafty little wedding which didn’t cost the earth… maybe some ideas for you here! xxx

    http://abeautifulmess.typepad.com/my_weblog/

  5. Waow, you are a pair of brave people. But I’m sure you’ll be fine. And think how you will feel this time next year: so relieved! I wish you all the best in your planning and I would love to hear how you are getting on, especially on the low budget-DIY side of things. I wish I had a more DIY wedding myself.

    • Cannot wait for us to have our haouse and the party to be over… I am looking forward to pottering about with a cup of tea and a crumpet!

      DIY and low budget ideas it is then! :D

  6. Congratulations on making the brave decision and how beautiful for your nan. My hubbie and I did them together and we survived, so it can be done. You just have to know what you want! Enjoy this exciting time.

  7. Can’t wait for more – I too need to organise my wedding on a shoestring budget so may be seeking inspiration!

    New reader from…well I’m not sure how I got here but I like your blog very much and look forward to trawling through with a cup of tea this evening

    Rachel x

    http://thereluctantbumpkin.blogspot.co.uk

    • Are you a ‘ooo shiny’ clicker like me? I never remember how I get places…following link after link! Glad you got here though. Another wedding post up near the end of the week and it’ll be a vlog!
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. Means a lot
      xxx

      • Haha totally – one thing leads to another and before I know it I’m reading up on how they get the lead in pencils when I was meant to be booking a hotel ;) xx

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

