REVISIT:- Chocolate Chip Cookies – The Pigeon Way

Hi guys, I have previously given out this recipe, but since I have been off work for the summer holidays I have been making trays upon trays of these, because they are P’s favourites and I felt they needed resharing.
We call them ‘Cakies’ (cay-keys) in our house because they should have a cake like texture in a cookie shape.
 

If you make the choc chips too small they sink to the bottom, ensure you make ‘em big!

Ingredients

(Makes 16 oversized cookies)

125g of butter (soft)
185g of soft brown sugar
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 lightly beaten egg
1 tablespoon of milk
215g of plain flour, mixed with 1 teaspoon of baking powder
250g of chocolate (pre-broken into squares or smaller if you wish)

Method

1 – Preheat oven to 180°C (350°F/Gas mark 4). Line a large baking tray with baking paper.

2- Cream the butter and sugar together.

3- Stir in the vanilla extract, and then gradually add the egg, giving it a good beating.

4 – Stir in the milk, and then add the flour and baking powder, till it becomes a wet dough.

5 – Add the chocolate chips/chunks (I don’t skinny chip…I chunky dunk!)

6 – Roll the cookie dough between your hands in large walnut sized globes. Pop them on the baking tray trying to leave a good 4cm around each cookie as they will spread….as I found out!

7 – Bake for around 15 mins or until lightly golden.

8 – Leave to cool for a little while on a wire rack if you can before you munch away,  else you’ll burn your mouth on lava-like chocolate!

My cookies become speckled with chocolate on top and hold the gooey choccy goodness in the centre and bottom, as in the piccie above, because I tend to whack everything through my mixer, so don’t worry if you get larger pieces of chocolate breaking through the top of the cookies. (I’m sure you’ll survive somehow!)

Enjoy!

8 responses to “REVISIT:- Chocolate Chip Cookies – The Pigeon Way

  1. Mmm, I’m debating making some cookies today, might do Snickerdoodles!

  2. Delicious! I think I am torturing myself looking at these, being on a pre holiday diet and all! :( xx

    http://toadsandtiaras.wordpress.com

  3. When I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment
    is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment.
    Is there a means you can remove me from that service?
    Many thanks!

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

