My Victorian Nemesis

I don’t scare easy.

I’ll move to London, with no job, no money, and no prospects, except a nibblet of talent and hope to make good.

I’ll move in with a guy I’ve only been with for 9 months…no problem…doesn’t faze me.

Things that scuttle do make me have a slightly visceral reaction. Heights make me weak at the knees. Yet my biggest fear, the fear that has gripped me for years, has been overcome.

My biggest fear is to fail. Now, I don’t care if I fall on my face in front of 200 people (aged 13 whilst performing Annie), if I make an idiot of myself (every work day, and I even push the boat out on the weekend) or even have to cough up and admit I’m wrong (that rarely happens, as all women know).

This fear stems from my mothers birthday. The one where I made her a victoria sponge, that resembled a huge bourbon. It was burnt, and horrendous. From that day, until today, I had never made another big cake.

I slowly conquered my fear of cake by making cupcakes. I felt I could handle the smallness…if one of them went wrong it wasn’t the end of the world….. a step in the right direction.

But my old nemesis raised it head, peering out of me from many a cookbook. Feeling secure in my kitchen, and having cooked many a dish in my temperamental oven, I thought it was time it was conquered.

And conquered it was!

I use the easiest recipe. My theory being that the easier it is, the less of a chance there is of anything going wrong!

Ingredients

For the Cake

  • 80z of sugar
  • 80z of softened butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 80z of self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 2 tbsp milk

For the filling

  • 4oz softened butter
  • 50z icing sugar & some to decorate
  • drop of vanilla extract
  • jar of jam (I used Gooseberry, due to the fact P’s mum having a bumper crop last year)

Method

  1. Heat oven to 190°C/ Gas 5
  2. Line two 20cm sandwich tins with greaseproof paper
  3. Cream sugar and butter
  4. Add the eggs, beat well.
  5. Add the flour, baking powder & milk, beat well into a smooth batter
  6. Divide up between the tins, give them a good jiggle to set them flat, and whack in the oven for 20 mins till golden and cake springs back.
  7. Turn onto wire rack and leave to cool.
  8. To make the filling, cream butter and icing sugar, with the vanilla extract.
  9. Spread the jam and butter cream onto the sponges. Whack them together. dust with icing sugar.
  10. Cut, serve and hide from others.

I’ve made the mistake of making this whilst P is out. I ought not to eat it all….I ought not to…I ought not….I ought……

YUM YUM

 

 

5 responses to “My Victorian Nemesis

  1. Good for you!! I’m also scared to fail (especially in the kitchen!), but I like how you took small steps towards conquering your goal. And I’m sure your cake tasted as good as it looks!

  2. Woo Hoo, I love it when someone just works – whether it be something electronic, mechanical or in cooking! Well done, such a great feeling of satisfaction, I’m sure!

  3. Yay! Looks deeelish! And you SHOULD eat it all, after all you made it!

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

