For the love of Reese’s!

My stepmum introduced me in Reese’s Cups about 2 years ago, and since then we have been partners in hunting them down. They have become more widely available over here in the UK, since she discovered them in the US on her honeymoon nearly 15 years ago, but I still buy them in bulk when I can.

I won’t lie. P has caught me red handed. Well, with a large tablespoon fishing in the chocolate spread jar followed  by a swift swish in the peanut butter jar, and it all finally transplanted into my mouth. A poor & needy girls Reese’s Cup.

For christmas, P bought me some springform tins. I think it was really a joint present. He loves cheesecake and I had been telling him for ages that I couldn’t make one without a springform tin. So Hey Presto! Merry Christmas…..where’s my cheesecake?

I also got Nigella’s new Kitchen cookbook from P (am I the easiest girlfriend to buy for or what!), and in it sat the most amazing looking Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheesecake, billed as a huge Reese’s Cup. It made my mouth fill with saliva just looking at the page……until I saw the ingredient list.

There was no way in hell I was going to make it. In all fairness, I don’t think I could be bothered. It looked far too complicated for a relaxing Sunday afternoon. And especially not as the first cheesecake I ever make!

But now I was hooked on the idea of a Reese Cup cheesecake. I needed to have peanut butter, chocolate and cheesecake all on one plate at the same time. And then I had a brainwave.

I’ve made Nigella’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Sundae sauce quite a bit, and have been known to eat it out of the jug with a spoon in front of the telly, the night after entertaining.

So making a basic cheesecake, I’ve added the Sundae sauce as the topping to create something ChoccaPeano to fill my Reese hole. It’s just chocolate and peanut enough to do the job….

ChoccaPeano (Choc-ah-pea-no) Cheesecake

ChoccaPeano Cheesecake

Ingredients

My springform tin is about 21/22 cm across the base ( I measured with my tape measure as I was unsure).

Biscuit Base

  • 150g of Digestive Biscuits
  • 25g of Salted Peanuts
  • 80g of Butter

Cheese Filling

  • 350g of cream cheese
  • 30g of icing sugar
  • 30g of caster sugar (This was due to necessity – having run out of icing sugar, but worked well!)
  • good splash of vanilla extract
  • good splash of lemon juice
  • 300ml of double cream (whipped)

Topping

  • 175 ml double cream
  • 100g milk chocolate
  • 130g of Peanut butter (I add more, but 100g would be ok)
  • 3 large tablespoons of golden syrup
  • Handful of Salted Peanuts (optional)

Method

  1. Blitz the digestives & peanuts together till crumbly.
  2. Add the butter, and blitz again.
  3. Push down into bottom of tin with the back of a spoon, covering evenly.
  4. Put in fridge whilst you make the cream cheese filling. BASE DONE!
  5. Whack the cream cheese, sugars, vanilla and lemon juice in a bowl and beat well.
  6. Add the whipped double cream, stir in gently.
  7. Spoon on top of your biscuit base, flattening with back of spoon or silicone spatula. I use the latter because you can get every little bit out of the bowl.
  8. Put the tin in the fridge now for 1 hour to chill.
  9. While the cheesecake is chilling, you have loads of time to make the topping. I measure my ingredients into the saucepan, saves making a bowl messy. Put all the topping ingredients in together, omitting the salted peanuts if you are going to use them. We need those last.
  10. Heat the topping ingredients until all have melted are you have a smooth mixture.
  11. Leave to cool in the pan for 20 minutes
  12. Pour on top of your basic cheesecake, flatten with the back of your spoon, and giving it a little jiggle to settle it evenly.
  13. Chop up your salted peanuts roughly and scatter all over the top of the cheesecake.
  14. Fridge for at least 3 hours, or overnight if you can bear it!
  15. Remove springform tin and eat in sickening amounts….

ENJOY!

8 responses to “For the love of Reese’s!

  1. Hi shinypigeon, your for the love of reeses post is really one particular of the most beneficial substance that :-bd.
    Dont forget to visit back my blog, glad to meet you… Thanks…,Best!!! 🙂

  2. Waitttt…this is going to sound very “American” of me (ha ha) but you don’t have Reeses over there?!?! WHAT!? Girllll, how do you survive!!!

    • I was fine before I realised what I was missing!
      The cups can be quite hard to track down, they have the ‘Nuttrageous’ bars everywhere, but they aren’t the same!
      I have resorted to scooping peanut butter out of the jar with chunks of chocolate before now…..

      Also we only get Chocolate and Strawberry Pop Tarts over here…I need Choccamallow and Cinnamon in my life!

  3. Yum! One one of my favourite combinations! Look great!

    • I did have two slices yesterday and then felt like a 4 year old who’d had too much birthday cake! This cheesecake is going to take at least the week to devour….may have to call P’s brother & girlfriend over to help demolish it!

  4. Ooo dear, you would LOVE the ice cream sundae poptarts then!!! But I gotta admit I am not even sure if Reeses can measure up to a big ole’ spoonful of extra crunchy peanut butter. Oh, all this talk about food is making me hungry!

  5. Pingback: A-Z of The Pigeon | Musings from the Pigeon's Nest

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

