Paella for dummies

As my ‘cooking something new’ this week, I decided to tackle Paella.

Prawns make Paella

It’s always seemed a bit daunting and scary for some reason, despite the fact I’ve eaten it a dozen times, made by different people.  I managed to create something edible….. a LOT of something edible in fact……why is it my meals always come out as if I’m cooking for 4?!

Never mind, no waste in this house, all hail the lunchbox!

P isn’t heavily into seafood, so I subsituted the seafood mix for tiger prawns, as he was a touch squeamish about the squid. Still was very yummy.

It seems silly giving a recipe for something that is so easily thrown together, you can whack anything in it, but for those of you, like me before tonight, who have never made Paella, please see below for a guiding hand.

Ingredients (for 4 hungry people)

  • a slug of olive oil
  • a finely sliced leek/onion (I used a leek)
  • 110g chopped chorizo sausage (I didn’t weigh mine, just chopped up ample enough for me and him)
  • 1 tsp of turmeric
  • 300g of rice (same as the chorizo, I just did enough for me and him….well I thought it was enough…eyes bigger than my belly!)
  • 1 litre of hot stock (chicken or fish)
  • 200g frozen peas
  • 400g of  frozen seafood mix, defrosted (or big prawns if serving to those who are picky!)

Method

  • Heat the oil, and soften the leek for 5 mins without browning.
  • Add the chorizo and fry until all the orangey oils ooze out.
  • Stir in the turmeric and uncooked rice until its totally coated with the oils.
  • Add the hot stock, bring back to the boil and then simmer for 15 , mins, stirring occassionally. Due to my tempermental electric hob, I kept some hot water on standby in case the mixture got too dry. The hob gets too hot, so adding more liquid to ensure it didn’t boil away to burn is my foolproof solution.
  • After the 15 minute simmer, tip in the peas and cook for 5 minutes.
  • Then stir in your seafood element to heat through for a couple of minutes or until your rice is fully cooked.
  • Serve into a big bowls and devour!

ENJOY!

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

