Cinnamon Whirls

A quick apology for being a bit slack on the posting front. The beginning of April has been a bit crazy for me due to some of my wonderful friends birthdays. I haven’t really been in a suitable posting state! But here we go…back on track.

I love a good Danish. FACT.

I’m off on Easter holidays at the moment, so I have some time to experiment with my baking!

So here is my recipe for very yummy Cinnamon Whirls. P came home to a huge pile of these, I woke up the next morning to only a few left…easy to make and even easier to eat!

Swirley whirley whirls

Ingredients

  • 1 block of puff pastry
  • 80g butter
  • 2 tsps of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of ginger
  • 2 tsps of maple syrup
  • 50g of brown sugar
  • 50g of dried fruits (chopped small if required)

Method

  • Roll out puff pastry into a large rectangle
  • Mix butter, spices, sugar and syrup together
  • Spread mixture on pastry, leaving a small gap around the edge
  • Sprinkle fruits on top of sticky mixture
  • Roll up the pastry like a swiss roll
  • Cut into slices
  • Bake on a greaseproof paper lined tray for 20 minutes at 200°C.
  • Cool and serve – ensure they are completely cool before storing, else they go a little soggy.
  • ENJOY!
4 responses to “Cinnamon Whirls

  1. They look delicious and finally, a recipe!

  2. Thanks! The proof is truly in the pudding, P had 2 for breakfast the next day!

  3. Praise you for this recipe! I love breakfast pastries, but I hate to cook in the morning. I think I can handle this one 🙂

  4. Honestly it is so easy…P watched in awe as I whacked some more of these out yesterday evening. As long as your puff pastry is defrosted it takes no time at all.

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

