Midweek Munchies: Tunaballs

Now although your mind may shoot to the gutter, this has nothing to do with fish man parts. The place in your mind that you went to, would mean that there were Mermen…and they were the wrong way up with fish heads. They don’t exist…… only the Mermen with fish tails are real. FACT. just check the Little Mermaid for reference.

Tunaballs

Like meatballs but made with Tuna, these babies are a great midweek meal. We had them tonight, hence the late post!

Ingredients (serves 2)

  • 2 cans of tuna (I used Mermaid friendly – it is personal taste if you want in brine, in oil or in water – I used brine.)
  • 2 Spring Onions
  • 1 egg, beaten.
  • Glug of vegetable oil
  • Half jar of Tomato based sauce (I used 1/2 a jar of Homepride’s Pasta Bake sauce in Tomato, Garlic and chilli – because it’s P’s fave)
  • Glug of water (in case sauce is too thick)
  • Spaghetti

Method

  • Put your pan on get your water boiling for your spaghetti.
  • Chop your spring onions, beat your egg and put them in a bowl together.
  • I also then put my glug of oil in the frying pan, ready, but not heating up yet.
  • I hate getting my hands dirty, so I wear CSI gloves to drain the tuna, and using my hands squeeze all the brine/water/oil out.
  • Still wearing my CSI glove, I then mix the tuna with the egg and onion mix, forming balls by squeezing. I made 7 pretty big balls, but you could make up to 12 littler ones.
  • I then pop these in the frying pan one by one as I make them, remove my gloves and whack on the heat, and begin to fry them, turning them carefully so they don’t fall apart.
  • Spaghetti should probably go on now, as the Tunaballs need to cook for 5 – 10 minutes.
  • When your Tuna is golden brown on all sides, whack in your sauce and a glug of water to help it along and stop it sticking to the bottom of the pan.
  • Cook for another 5 minutes.
  • Drain your pasta, but not too well. Over-drained pasta gets a bit claggy and sticks to your teeth. Bleurgh. Serve into bowls.
  • Take your Tunaballs off the heat, and spoon out onto your pasta, adding the extra sauce on top.
  • YUMMY!

 

2 responses to “Midweek Munchies: Tunaballs

  1. I love your instructions, clear and funny. “Over-drained pasta gets a bit claggy and sticks to your teeth. Bleurgh.” I now plan to say claggy all the time and no I’m not being a smarty pants. Great recipe it does seem like a great weeknight meal.

  2. Thanks Rufus!
    I did just have to check the dictionary to ensure claggy wasn’t a ‘Pigeon-ism’ and was an actual word!
    😀

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

