Midweek Munchies: Party for One

I adore P. I really do. FACT.  I also adore cooking for him. What I don’t adore is his lack of love for all things seafood. I would live on seafood every day if I could.

P has disappeared off to San Francisco today, off on holiday with the boys for two weeks. Yup…you heard me…..two weeks. We don’t even own a pet to keep me company! It’s going to be a lonely ole time for little ole me. So to cheer myself up, and revel in things I love when the man I love has buggered off for a while….I’m eating mussels!

Mussels need very little cooking, so no need for a real recipe here

  • Stick them in the bottom of a large, heavy-based pan with a small amount of water and turn up the heat to steam them. As soon as the shells start gaping open, you know they are ready.
  • Try not to overcook them or it’ll be like chewing rubber bands.
  • Get rid of any that haven’t opened…it’s not that they’ll kill you, they are just a pig to open and cooks have been telling us forever to chuck ’em.

Now I like my mussels from Brussels in a garlic white wine sauce which is pretty easy peasy to do.

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 good old glug and a bit of Chardonnay or other non-sweet white wine
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves fresh garlic, minced/crushed/hacked to death

How To

  1. Kill your garlic in your chosen fashion and heat it up in a pan along with your butter.
  2. Add your onions, and fry till translucent.
  3. Whack in your wine and heat for a few minutes to let the flavours mingle.
  4. Pour over your mussels and serve.
  5. Eat with copious amounts of carbs (I either have crusty bread, chips or pasta) and wiggle with delight.

What is your Party for One dish?

4 responses to “Midweek Munchies: Party for One

  1. You can borrow Yoda to keep you company if you like, he’s got bigger ears and not as good at Counter Strike but he might do

  2. As much as I would love to catsit Yoda for 2 weeks, I’d then have to spend a week de-catting the flat before P gets home so he doesn’t die as soon as he walks in the front door. Damn boyfriends and their allergies.

  3. Oooh mussels! (I nearly just wrote ‘muscles’ haha) I’ve never tried them, am a bit scared of seafood for some reason – I have issues! They look yummy though, I think i could be persuaded!

  4. I didn’t have mussels till last year in France. Along with lobster and oysters. I wasn’t keen on the oysters (they had the texture of snot and were super salty) but discovered that I LOVE mussels and lobster!

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

