5 Things I’m Thankful For – Thursday

I’m Thankful For My Straight-Talking Parents.

My parents (and I include my step-parents in this) don’t beat around the bush.

It’s not that they lack tact, I’m sure I’ve seen it used….pretty sure… It is that fact that they are not afraid of inciting my wrath and indignation, or anyone elses for that matter.

When I was younger I wished to be more adept in social situations, I always said the wrong thing…my tact-o-meter didn’t really function. Apparently it wasn’t plugged in a birth.

As I’ve grown older, I’ve realised that not only did my tact-o-meter fail regularly, so did all my embarrass-a-trons. My folks didn’t sign me up for those either. I also realised ‘I’m alright about it’. One of my mother’s favourite quotes of mine.

The fact that I have grown up amongst those who speak their mind freely and often, means I’m not afraid to put myself out there. I do say stupid things, they sometimes even fleetingly register as stupid and possibly inappropriate, but I say them anyway.

My straight talking parents have given me the courage to say no to things with no fear of repercussions. No, thank you, I don’t want to be part of the school’s  cool club that drinks cider down the park and smokes stolen cigarettes. I’d rather not. I’m perfectly fine with being regarded as a complete sad act, thank you.

They have taught me to tell people exactly what I want, because at least then people can’t be confused of my expectations. I terrified boyfriends this way…

But most of all my straight talking parents have taught me to always stand up for what I believe in and to never be embarrassed of who I am and how I live my life.

And that is a lesson I can never stop being thankful for.

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

