Buried in a book about food in books…

Sometimes I am highly aware that I am on another planet, and that my friends, family and P are all looking at me and shaking their heads.

I find this happens a lot when I read cookbooks like ACTUAL books.

I snuggle up on the sofa, cup of chamomile tea in hand, blanket wrapped around me and a big fat hardback with Nigella’s face plastered all over it. To me that sounds like bloomin’ heaven.

Imagine then, teamed with the knowledge of how much I LOVE children’s literature (Yes Ms Blyton and Mr C.S. Lewis, I am gawping at you AGAIN), that there is a cookbook all about the delicious foods in children’s books. I KNOW RIGHT?!

Who wouldn’t want to run around solving mysteries and then scoff macaroons like Fatty in Five Finder Outers? NOBODY. That’s who.

This amazing book is not imaginary. I was given it, earlier this month, as a birthday present by one of my wonderful best friends, Louise, and I had to try so hard not to sit and pour over the pages before I opened anything else!

Cherry Cake and Ginger Beer: A Golden Treasury of Classic Treats is written by Jane Brocket, and it is a must Christmas buy for those you know, who like me, can’t say no to Elevenses.

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

