Making it – Celeste @ Ruby Key

Today, we have the gorgeous Celeste, who blogs over at Life as Twiggy, talking about her lovely little business, Ruby Key, where she sells handmade cards, tags and other paper-based yummies!

Why and when did you first decide to open a shop?

I opened my shop as a college student about two years ago. My graphic design courses at school opened a whole new window of creativity for me, and Ruby Key is my little virtual place where I can express that and continue doing what I love.

Why did you choose the name of your shop?
One of my first few times thrift shopping I came across an old key that inspired me to find the beauty in all things vintage. From there I continued to thrift and make several purchases of vintage items. I began to learn more about Etsy and had more interest in creating handmade paper goods. I also began to stumble across other bloggers who share similar interests as me. Everything seemed to come about after I came across the vintage key.Where did you first decide to start selling your products, and why did you decide on that method? 


When I first encountered Etsy I knew I wanted to be apart of it. It took some time for me to think about what I wanted to sell but as time went by, everything seemed to fall into place. I choose to begin my shop online because I felt like it was an excellent way to start. Etsy is a wonderful handmade community.
Some of Ruby Key’s beautiful stock – click the picture to head straight to buy!

Where do you find that most of your buyers hear about you?
At first it was only word of mouth, but I’m beginning to spread the word in different ways. I will be doing my first craft show this weekend, which is an excellent way to expose my shop, hand out my business cards, and hopefully sell some items 🙂What do you enjoy most about running your own shop?
I love the fact it reflects who I am and what I LOVE doing.What is the least enjoyable thing?
For me, I wish I could have personal interactions with each of my customers. After selling items I want to know more about my customers reaction and/or what they are using my items for.

What is your favourite item that you have in your shop right now?
Right now I’m loving my handmade valentine cards because it’s a mix of color and vintage. I love incorporating old book paper and machine sewn stitches.Is there anything you would do differently if you started the whole process again?

I’m still very new to my shop and take each day as a learning experience. The one thing I would change is keeping better track of all my expenses, even from day 1.
Gorgeous Valentines Garland @ Ruby Key! Click image to head to her Etsy shop!


Do you have any advice for those following in your footsteps?

Continue to do what you love! If you find happiness in what your doing, something good is bound to happen 🙂
Big thanks to Celeste for sharing her shop story. Some really great advice here! I have already collated all my receipts from day one…dreading my first tax return! 😀 If you want to know more about Celeste, her blog or her shop, feel free to link on the links below!

If you have a self-set up shop or business and would like to featured on ‘Making It’, drop me an email at shinypigeon@hotmail.co.uk.

Would LOVE to hear from you!

One response to “Making it – Celeste @ Ruby Key

  1. Nice to see lot of young entrepreneurs 🙂 i am checking out her blog..

    I have a “delicious giveaway” – win a abataba jewellery on my blog.
    love
    megha

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

