#2 / 35 in 365 – Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

Image source and to purchase it – click here

For those who don’t know me in real life, very few of you will know that my real grown-up name is Rebecca, and even fewer of you will know that I was named after this novel.

I was bought a hardcover copy of the novel by my grandfather when I was born, and since the age of 14 I have read it at least once a year, drawing more and more from it every time. I love Daphne du Maurier’s writing, the way she evokes the scenes and fills out her characters. It transports me to the 20’s/30’s and all I want to do is drink tea and walk a spaniel.

I love how frustrated I get with the second Mrs De Winter, as she pushes on through the novel with her childlike shyness and that my namesake affects her so much despite her death 10 months earlier.

If you haven’t read this classic, I highly suggest it. It is truly my favourite book of all time, and not only because I was named after it.

2 responses to “#2 / 35 in 365 – Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

  1. One of my favourite books too, I can read it over and over!

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

