Making It – Liz @ The Blue Eyed Owl

Hello all!

Today I am featuring the wonderful Liz from Blue Eyed Owl.

The wonderful and talented Liz

Why and when did you first decide to open a shop/start a business?

 A couple of years ago, a mysterious stomach illness forced me to resign from teaching kindergarten. I was heartbroken at first but after I recovered, and adjusted to life at home, I realized it was a blessing in disguise. While I love teaching other people’s kids, I love spending quality time with my own daughter more.

I knew I needed to find something to do while she was as at school, and a way to earn a bit of money. I distracted myself with crafting and thrifting while I dreaded the thought of having to go back to work part time. Then it hit me, I can craft and thrift for a living! I turned my love of vintage and handmade into my new job and have never been happier with my “work.”

Why did you choose the name of your shop/business?

People are often confused with the name Blue Eyed Owl because I have brown eyes. I knew I wanted to incorporate my daughter into the name somehow since she is my inspiration and motivation for my efforts. She has beautiful big blue eyes and is wise beyond her years, plus I love owls!

Where did you first decide to start selling your products/service, and why did you decide on that method? 

 I began with (and still use) Etsy. I originally had 2 shops, one for handmade, and one for vintage. What a nightmare! I’m much happier with my current setup. I also sell at craft fairs and vintage markets, that’s where you make the big bucks! I had an antique booth for a while, but I was spread too thin.

Fabulous headband – click here to buy!


Where do you find that most of your buyers hear about you?

A majority of my sales are from random Etsy searches and market patrons. I growing number however are blog or social media followers.

What do you enjoy most about running your own shop/business?

 I love so many things about it but a big one is the flexibility in scheduling. I work a ton of hours, but I have control over it. I love being able to sleep in if I need to or work at midnight because I have an idea. My husband works from home too, so we get to spend a lot more time together.

What is the least enjoyable thing?

Well, I’m definitely not making as much money as before…lol! My overall happiness is much more important though.

What is your favourite item that you have in your shop right now?

There is a really pretty vintage glass apple in the shop right now that I love!

Click here to buy this gorgeous apple!


Is there anything you would do differently if you started the whole process again?

Probably not. I made a lot of mistakes, but I learned valuable lessons from every one.

Do you have any advice for those following in your footsteps?

Don’t be afraid to just dive right in and start. You learn much better by doing than by observing others. Change, adjust, and improve until you get everything the way you want! Oh, and network, network, network.

Wow Liz! Some fabulous advice. I love how you changed your hobby into a pay packet! So inspiring.

You can buy lots of lovely things from Liz’s shop, you can visit her blog, you can like her on facebook or chat to her on Twitter, whichever way you choose just be sure to show this lady some love!

P.S –  If you want get involved with my Making It feature, fling me an email on shinypigeon@hotmail.com. Would LOVE to hear from you! xoxox

One response to “Making It – Liz @ The Blue Eyed Owl

  1. Networking is super important! Great advice!

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

