Making it – Dayner @ Mozzypop

I won’t lie. I love Dayner who runs Mozzypop. I was introduced to her gorgeous blog and shop by my IRL bestie Lauren, where I promptly spent all the money in my Paypal account on lovely earrings!

Not only is she a great business lady, she is also an actual sweetheart!

Why and when did you first decide to open a shop?

I first started selling jewellery as a little hobby on MySpace a few years ago! And it’s led to this point where I have my own shop online. It’s been a very gradual process and I never set out with a vision of being an “entrepreneur” – I just love my hobby and I’m glad some others do too!
Why did you choose the name of your shop?

My shop name is one of two random words moulded together! My thoughts simply were that I wanted something truly unique, so that when my customers searched for Mozzypop on the web, you would find my shop right away… no getting lost amongst all the other jewellery sites out there. It’s a good bit of advice I read that you don’t want your brand’s keywords blending in with everything else in a search engine!
Click image to buy – I have these!
Where did you first decide to start selling your products, and why did you decide on that method? 

As mentioned above, it was MySpace for me as I shared some pictures of my things and people asked about buying! But that was long ago. I decided on using http://www.bigcartel.com to host my shop as it’s easiest for me to use and customise, plus I get to buy my own domain name.


Where do you find that most of your buyers hear about you?

Twitter works wonders for me getting my brand out there, but I find a lot of my visits come from keyword searches on search engines too.


What do you enjoy most about running your own shop?

The buzz of getting a sale of course! 😉 And it’s lovely to look at my shop full of things and think… “that’s all my hard work!”
Click image to buy!

What is the least enjoyable thing?

Post office trips, paperwork and photo editing… just because it takes so long to get it just perfect! (and I am somewhat a perfectionist!)

 What is your favourite item that you have in your shop right now?

My favourite is this the Crystal Icicles pendant. It’s just so unusual and I love long necklaces anyway. The fact that the icicles are raw natural crystal that have been made by the Earth is even more lovely.
Click the image to buy!

Is there anything you would do differently if you started the whole process again?

Not differently so much, but I probably would have tried to encourage myself to work harder and faster. You can always improve, always.

Do you have any advice for those following in your footsteps?

Try and be as organised as possible, keep all your receipts neatly in a folder and keep all your emails in organised folders, you never know when you might need them! Make sure you’re registered with the HMRC for tax returns… this is the law even if you only sell a few ££’s worth of stuff here and there, if you are caught trading in any way without being registered you can be fined up to £1000! So don’t take the risk. It’s actually pretty easy to do a tax return if you’ve kept your receipts neat, so don’t be scared of it. And you never know, you may find they actually owe YOU some money! 
 
Try your best to keep a tidy desk/office/workspace. It makes it SO much easier to feel inspired and motivated when you have a nice big clear space ready to get messed up all over again! And finally, if you have a passion for what you do it will shine through in the quality of your work. So love what you do, and love it a lot! 🙂
What a doll! Go visit her pleeeeease…. click on one of her links below!

BLOG

SHOP

FACEBOOK

TWITTER

HEY! – Fancy being featured? Drop me an email on shinypigeon@hotmail.co.uk

5 responses to “Making it – Dayner @ Mozzypop

  1. This is so wonderful… thank you dear! 😀

    Dayner x

  2. nice! xx

    p.s. I’m having a shoe giveaway if you’d like to check it out. 🙂
    devorelebeaumonstre.com

  3. Great interview! I have seen her blog before but i didn’t know that she had a shop! I love those earrings! Anyway thanks for making me aware of it, I’m just about to check it out now! xx

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

