How To: Make a Tea Towel

For all my hand stitched makes and crochet creations, I am still a bit nervy around my sewing machine. The only lessons I have had on it are from my GCSE Textiles (where I scraped a C….silly girl…I think not embracing my GCSE Textiles is deffo one of my biggest regrets). I feel a lot more confident stitching by hand as I feel I can predict how it is going to come out, and I am still to find and follow a simple dress pattern to make myself something pretty to wear.

What I can do however is whack together simple shapes and make owls and whatnot, so when our friends bought a beautiful new house, I thought I’d make them a housewarming gift….tea towels.

How to make a tea towel DIY (2)

Isn’t this fabric bloody gorge? I TOTALLY need to lady up and make a 50’s style frock from the remaining fabric….le sigh….

Firstly I measured up using one of my tea towels from the kitchen, ensuring I cut it large enough to be able to fold the seam allowance on itself to ensure a nice clean finish.

How to make a tea towel DIY (3)

I then ironed…this is the only action my iron ever sees by the way… a sharp crease about 1 cm into the fabric.

How to make a tea towel DIY (5)

I then folded the seams over on themselves again and ironed again, pinning them together ready for stitching.

How to make a tea towel DIY (6)

Using a small straight stitch I ran these bad boys swiftly through the machine.

How to make a tea towel DIY (7)

Ending up with two lovely tea towels with a nice straight edge which took about 15 minutes to make.

How to make a tea towel DIY (1)

I folded them together and wrapped them with a pretty ribbon, because when fabric looks this fab, why cover it in paper?!

How to make a tea towel DIY (4)

I’m tempted to make a dozen more…despite the fact we collect tea towels from our holidays rather than souvenirs, so we have about a million!

Have you ever made tea towels?

wpid-signoff2013.png

One response to “How To: Make a Tea Towel

  1. These look gorgeous; what a lovely housewarming present! I’ve never made teatowels but we have too many of them anyway. Although, now I think of it, some of them are rather boring… xxx

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

