Don’t Throwaway Threads

Fashion has become so fickle. And it’s boring the pants off me. Quite literally.

It’s looping and looping around,  and age-old ‘staples’ that I claim as fashion have slid back into the ‘popular’ stream, meaning that all the lumberjack shirts and leggings I’ve been wearing since…well since I pinched a couple of Papa Pigeon’s old shirts aged 14… are finally back ‘in’. I’m not saying the most fashionable bird around…far from it…I know that some of my clothing choices are down right ridiculous, but I like how they make me feel…and that my friends is what clothes are for. They are meant to work for you…not the other way round.

DOn't throwaway thread (2)

I’m not saying that fashion is a bad thing, but we need to see this beast for what it is. A money-making churning machine. I am appreciative that disco pants came back in…I’ve been aching for a pair of skin tights shinys since I saw Sandy in that last scene from Grease as a little girl….I know…issues…but I’m not willing to buy plastic ‘futuristic’ see through high heels, when we all know that tweed and english heritage will be back in this winter… just you mark my words (EVERY YEAR!).

So to help myself step away from this big churny machine and to save pennies…I’m not buying any new clothes for 365 days. Don’t fret clothing hoarders… I will get some new-to-me clobber, but you’ll find me making it a mission this WHOLE year to only buy from carboot sales, charity shops, clothing swaps and to upcycle things I already have lurking in the back of my wardrobe. Women on average have over 3,000 items in their wardrobe (I think mine is about that…glup) and 60% of us whine about having nothing to wear for a night out…. that is insanity.

We also throw out soooo much fabric in this country and it drives me batty. NO fabric leaves this house in a binbag. All my old clothes are either shredded and used as stuffing for a multiple of things or the fabric picked apart at the seams and turned into housewares or items for my shop. I don’t actually think we have even thrown out so much as an old dishcloth… (they get boil washed multiple times and reused before I shred them and put them in the composter)… since we moved here….

So I’ll also be trying to show you what I do with all my old stuff that is honestly long past dead.

DOn't throwaway thread (1)

My biggest fear is basics and jeans. I already know that my black ballet pumps have had it and that I need another white vest, so they are going to be hard to find second-hand. Jeans for me are my holy grail. They have to be long enough and fit me both around the waist and the bottom…a seriously tall order that only Uniqlo has been able to fill recently…argh! My biggest weakness is going to be when all the jumpers come back into the high street….oh gawd I love a jumper. I’m however excited about trying out new shapes and things out of my comfort zone as I will have less choice.

Wish me luck!

wpid-signoff2013.pngI will be instagramming and tweeting with the hashtag #dontthrowawaythreads if you want to follow or join in! 😀

 

6 responses to “Don’t Throwaway Threads

  1. I haven’t intentionally *set out* to do this, but I’ve kind of been doing it all year anyway. The only new stuff I’ve bought is bras/pants/tights and a much-needed pair of trainers (not having bought any new shoes for a few years….)! That 3000 statistic boggles me, where does that actually come from? There’s no way I have that much as it would never fit in my wardrobe. 300 counting tights, socks, undies and shoes, *maybe*, but not 3000.

  2. Three THOUSAND items of clothing?! That is madness! I’m assuming that includes shoes, accessories, and so on but still – that seems absolutely mental. I tend not to buy clothes too often, because I’m much more interested in homeware. That said, I might have bought myself a rather excessive number of new work clothes yesterday (justifying the expense due to new job) three of which were very similar but crucially different Breton-style tops. A girl can never have too many of those, right?! xxx

  3. Good on ya pidgey. I HATE clothes shopping with a passion and reckon I own less than 100 garments (not including underwear, shoes or sox), and they are mostly work clothes. On the other hand my OH has over 100 t-shirts alone! Im looking forward to seeing how you do. :o)

Got something to say? Don't be shy, I love comments!

